Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Leandra's law took effect 12/18/09 - DWI with kids in the car

Genesee County has had its first arrest under Leandra's law which took effect in New York State on 12/18/09.

Basically what the law provides for is a felony DWI charge if the intoxicated driver has passengers in the car under 16 years old.

This is a far more serious charge that a misdemeanor DWI which would have been possible in the past.

From Daily News article by Scott DeSmit published 12/30/09:

Leandra's Law is named after Leandra Rosado, 11, who was killed Oct. 11 when the car she was in crashed and overturned on a New York City street. Leandra and several other girls were on their way to a slumber party. The driver was charged with DWI and vehicular manslaughter.

Under the new law, drivers now face felony DWI charges, rather than a misdemeanor under the previous law, if they have passengers under 16 years old.

No comments: