Wednesday, February 24, 2010

DWIs in New York State carry increasingly harsh penalties

This comes from the New York Lawyers and Attorneys web site:

The penalties for a DUI in New York have become severe because the statistics show just how dangerous drinking and driving can be. For instance, 1/3 of all New York fatalities involve not only impaired drivers, but impaired pedestrians too! The statistics also show that, as a person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level rises, so, too, do their rate of car accidents. Consider the facts that a driver with a .08 BAC is 4 times as likely to cause an accident, and a driver with a .16 BAC is 25 times as likely to cause an accident when compared to sober drivers. Therefore, in an effort to protect all drivers, New York has implemented some very harsh dui fines and dui penalties.

Your 1st drunk driving conviction brings a jail term of up to 1 year, fines from $500 to $1,000, plus a mandatory surcharge, and a 6-month minimum driver’s license suspension. In addition, alcohol screening and/or an alcohol evaluation will be mandatory. Depending on your particular circumstances, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car, and you may need to undergo a driver responsibility assessment. And if there was a passenger under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time of your New York DUI, you will be in violation of Leandra’s Law, which passed the New York State Senate on November 17, 2009, and states you will be charged with a Class “E” felony, be fined up to $5,000, and/or be jailed up to 4 years.

To read the whole article click here.

No comments: